The Lutheran Church Year

2020/2021 Calendar
Sunday, February 28, 2021
Advent Season
Sun Nov. 29
First Sunday in Advent
Also: Noah (Commemoration)
Mon Nov. 30
St. Andrew
Tue Dec. 1
Wed Dec. 2
Thu Dec. 3
Fri Dec. 4
John of Damascus, Theologian and Hymnwriter (Commemoration)
Sat Dec. 5
Sun Dec. 6
Second Sunday in Advent
Also: Nicholas of Myra, Pastor (Commemoration)
Mon Dec. 7
Ambrose of Milan, Pastor and Hymnwriter (Commemoration)
Tue Dec. 8
Wed Dec. 9
Thu Dec. 10
Fri Dec. 11
Sat Dec. 12
Sun Dec. 13
Third Sunday in Advent
Also: Lucia, Martyr (Commemoration)
Mon Dec. 14
Tue Dec. 15
Wed Dec. 16
Thu Dec. 17
Daniel the Prophet and the Three Young Men (Commemoration)
Fri Dec. 18
Sat Dec. 19
Adam and Eve (Commemoration)
Sun Dec. 20
Fourth Sunday in Advent
Also: Katharina von Bora Luther (Commemoration)
Mon Dec. 21
St. Thomas
Tue Dec. 22
Wed Dec. 23
Christmas Season
Thu Dec. 24
Christmas Eve
Fri Dec. 25
Christmas Day
Sat Dec. 26
St. Stephen
Sun Dec. 27
First Sunday after Christmas
Also: St. John
Mon Dec. 28
The Holy Innocents
Tue Dec. 29
David (Commemoration)
Wed Dec. 30
Thu Dec. 31
Eve of the Circumcision and Name of Jesus
Fri Jan. 1
Circumcision and Name of Jesus
Sat Jan. 2
J. K. Wilhelm Loehe, Pastor (Commemoration)
Sun Jan. 3
Second Sunday after Christmas
Mon Jan. 4
Tue Jan. 5
Epiphany Season
Wed Jan. 6
The Day of Epiphany
Thu Jan. 7
Fri Jan. 8
Sat Jan. 9
Sun Jan. 10
The Day of the Baptism of our Lord
Also: Basil the Great of Caesarea, Gregory of Nazianzus, and Gregory of Nyssa, Pastors and Confessors (Commemoration)
Mon Jan. 11
Tue Jan. 12
Wed Jan. 13
Thu Jan. 14
Fri Jan. 15
Sat Jan. 16
Sun Jan. 17
Second Sunday after Epiphany
Mon Jan. 18
The Confession of St. Peter
Tue Jan. 19
Wed Jan. 20
Sarah (Commemoration)
Thu Jan. 21
Fri Jan. 22
Sat Jan. 23
Sun Jan. 24
Third Sunday after Epiphany
Also: St. Timothy
Mon Jan. 25
The Conversion of St. Paul
Tue Jan. 26
St. Titus
Wed Jan. 27
John Chrysostom, Preacher (Commemoration)
Thu Jan. 28
Fri Jan. 29
Sat Jan. 30
Sun Jan. 31
Fourth Sunday after Epiphany ("Septuagesima")
Mon Feb. 1
Tue Feb. 2
The Purification of Mary and the Presentation of Our Lord
Wed Feb. 3
Thu Feb. 4
Fri Feb. 5
Jacob (Israel), Patriarch (Commemoration)
Sat Feb. 6
Sun Feb. 7
Fifth Sunday after Epiphany ("Sexagesima")
Mon Feb. 8
Tue Feb. 9
Wed Feb. 10
Silas, Fellow Worker of St. Peter and St. Paul (Commemoration)
Thu Feb. 11
Fri Feb. 12
Sat Feb. 13
Aquila, Priscilla, Apollos (Commemoration)
Sun Feb. 14
Transfiguration Sunday ("Quinquagesima")
Also: Valentine, Martyr (Commemoration)
Mon Feb. 15
Philemon and Onesimus (Commemoration)
Tue Feb. 16
Philipp Melanchthon (birth), Confessor (Commemoration)
Lent Season
Wed Feb. 17
Ash Wednesday
Thu Feb. 18
Martin Luther, Doctor and Confessor (Commemoration)
Fri Feb. 19
Sat Feb. 20
Sun Feb. 21
First Sunday in Lent ("Invocati")
Mon Feb. 22
Tue Feb. 23
Polycarp of Smyrna (Commemoration)
Wed Feb. 24
St. Matthias
Thu Feb. 25
Fri Feb. 26
Sat Feb. 27
Sun Feb. 28
Second Sunday in Lent ("Reminiscere")
Mon Mar. 1
Tue Mar. 2
Wed Mar. 3
Thu Mar. 4
Fri Mar. 5
Sat Mar. 6
Sun Mar. 7
Third Sunday in Lent ("Oculi")
Also: Perpetua and Felicitas, Martyrs (Commemoration)
Mon Mar. 8
Tue Mar. 9
Wed Mar. 10
Thu Mar. 11
Fri Mar. 12
Sat Mar. 13
Sun Mar. 14
Fourth Sunday in Lent ("Laetare")
Mon Mar. 15
Tue Mar. 16
Wed Mar. 17
Patrick, Missionary to Ireland (Commemoration)
Thu Mar. 18
Fri Mar. 19
St. Joseph
Sat Mar. 20
Sun Mar. 21
Fifth Sunday in Lent ("Judica")
Mon Mar. 22
Tue Mar. 23
Wed Mar. 24
Thu Mar. 25
The Annunciation of Our Lord
Fri Mar. 26
Sat Mar. 27
Sun Mar. 28
Palm Sunday
Mon Mar. 29
Monday in Holy Week
Tue Mar. 30
Tuesday in Holy Week
Wed Mar. 31
Wednesday in Holy Week
Also: Joseph, Patriarch (Commemoration)
Thu Apr. 1
Holy (Maundy) Thursday
Fri Apr. 2
Good Friday
Sat Apr. 3
Holy Saturday
Easter Season
Sun Apr. 4
Easter Day
Mon Apr. 5
Easter Monday
Tue Apr. 6
Easter Tuesday
Also: Lucas Cranach and Albrecht Dürer, Artists (Commemoration)
Wed Apr. 7
Easter Wednesday
Thu Apr. 8
Fri Apr. 9
Sat Apr. 10
Sun Apr. 11
Second Sunday of Easter ("Quasimodogenti")
Mon Apr. 12
Tue Apr. 13
Wed Apr. 14
Thu Apr. 15
Fri Apr. 16
Sat Apr. 17
Sun Apr. 18
Third Sunday of Easter ("Misericordias Domini")
Mon Apr. 19
Tue Apr. 20
Johannes Bugenhagen, Pastor (Commemoration)
Wed Apr. 21
Anselm of Canterbury, Theologian (Commemoration)
Thu Apr. 22
Fri Apr. 23
Sat Apr. 24
Johann Walter, Kantor (Commemoration)
Sun Apr. 25
Fourth Sunday of Easter ("Jubilate")
Also: St. Mark
Mon Apr. 26
Tue Apr. 27
Wed Apr. 28
Thu Apr. 29
Fri Apr. 30
Sat May 1
St. Philip and St. James
Sun May 2
Fifth Sunday of Easter ("Cantate")
Also: Athanasius of Alexandria, Pastor and Confessor (Commemoration)
Mon May 3
Tue May 4
Friedrich Wyneken, Pastor and Missionary (Commemoration)
Wed May 5
Frederick the Wise, Christian Ruler (Commemoration)
Thu May 6
Fri May 7
C. F. W. Walther, Theologian (Commemoration)
Sat May 8
Sun May 9
Sixth Sunday of Easter ("Rogate")
Also: Job (Commemoration)
Mon May 10
Tue May 11
Cyril and Methodius, Missionaries to the Slavs (Commemoration)
Wed May 12
Thu May 13
Ascension Day
Fri May 14
Sat May 15
Sun May 16
Seventh Sunday of Easter ("Exaudi")
Mon May 17
Tue May 18
Wed May 19
Thu May 20
Fri May 21
Emperor Constantine, Christian Ruler, and Helena, Mother of Constantine (Commemoration)
Sat May 22
Pentecost Season
Sun May 23
Pentecost
Mon May 24
Esther (Commemoration)
Tue May 25
Bede the Venerable, Theologian (Commemoration)
Wed May 26
Thu May 27
Fri May 28
Sat May 29
Sun May 30
Holy Trinity
Mon May 31
The Visitation
Tue Jun. 1
Justin, Martyr (Commemoration)
Wed Jun. 2
Thu Jun. 3
Fri Jun. 4
Sat Jun. 5
Boniface of Mainz, Missionary to the Germans (Commemoration)
Sun Jun. 6
Second Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Jun. 7
Tue Jun. 8
Wed Jun. 9
Thu Jun. 10
Fri Jun. 11
St. Barnabas
Sat Jun. 12
The Ecumenical Council of Nicaea, AD 325 (Commemoration)
Sun Jun. 13
Third Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Jun. 14
Elisha (Commemoration)
Tue Jun. 15
Wed Jun. 16
Thu Jun. 17
Fri Jun. 18
Sat Jun. 19
Sun Jun. 20
Fourth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Jun. 21
Tue Jun. 22
Wed Jun. 23
Thu Jun. 24
The Nativity of St. John the Baptist
Fri Jun. 25
Presentation of the Augsburg Confession (Commemoration)
Sat Jun. 26
Jeremiah (Commemoration)
Sun Jun. 27
Fifth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Cyril of Alexandria, Pastor and Confessor (Commemoration)
Mon Jun. 28
Irenaeus of Lyons, Pastor (Commemoration)
Tue Jun. 29
St. Peter and St. Paul
Wed Jun. 30
Thu Jul. 1
Fri Jul. 2
Sat Jul. 3
Sun Jul. 4
Sixth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Jul. 5
Tue Jul. 6
Isaiah (Commemoration)
Wed Jul. 7
Thu Jul. 8
Fri Jul. 9
Sat Jul. 10
Sun Jul. 11
Seventh Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Jul. 12
Tue Jul. 13
Wed Jul. 14
Thu Jul. 15
Fri Jul. 16
Ruth (Commemoration)
Sat Jul. 17
Sun Jul. 18
Eighth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Jul. 19
Tue Jul. 20
Elijah (Commemoration)
Wed Jul. 21
Ezekiel (Commemoration)
Thu Jul. 22
St. Mary Magdalene
Fri Jul. 23
Sat Jul. 24
Sun Jul. 25
Ninth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: St. James the Elder
Mon Jul. 26
Tue Jul. 27
Wed Jul. 28
Johann Sebastian Bach, Kantor (Commemoration)
Thu Jul. 29
Mary, Martha, and Lazarus of Bethany (Commemoration)
Fri Jul. 30
Robert Barnes, Confessor and Martyr (Commemoration)
Sat Jul. 31
Joseph of Arimathea (Commemoration)
Sun Aug. 1
Tenth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Aug. 2
Tue Aug. 3
Joanna, Mary, and Salome, Myrrhbearers (Commemoration)
Wed Aug. 4
Thu Aug. 5
Fri Aug. 6
Sat Aug. 7
Sun Aug. 8
Eleventh Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Aug. 9
Tue Aug. 10
Lawrence, Deacon and Martyr (Commemoration)
Wed Aug. 11
Thu Aug. 12
Fri Aug. 13
Sat Aug. 14
Sun Aug. 15
Twelfth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: St. Mary
Mon Aug. 16
Isaac (Commemoration)
Tue Aug. 17
Johann Gerhard, Theologian (Commemoration)
Wed Aug. 18
Thu Aug. 19
Bernard of Clairvaux, Hymnwriter and Theologian (Commemoration)
Fri Aug. 20
Samuel (Commemoration)
Sat Aug. 21
Sun Aug. 22
Thirteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Aug. 23
Tue Aug. 24
St. Bartholomew
Wed Aug. 25
Thu Aug. 26
Fri Aug. 27
Monica, Mother of Augustine (Commemoration)
Sat Aug. 28
Augustine of Hippo, Pastor and Theologian (Commemoration)
Sun Aug. 29
Fourteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: The Martyrdom of St. John the Baptist
Mon Aug. 30
Tue Aug. 31
Wed Sep. 1
Joshua (Commemoration)
Thu Sep. 2
Hannah (Commemoration)
Fri Sep. 3
Gregory the Great, Pastor (Commemoration)
Sat Sep. 4
Moses (Commemoration)
Sun Sep. 5
Fifteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Zechariah and Elizabeth (Commemoration)
Mon Sep. 6
Tue Sep. 7
Wed Sep. 8
Thu Sep. 9
Fri Sep. 10
Sat Sep. 11
Sun Sep. 12
Sixteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Sep. 13
Tue Sep. 14
Holy Cross Day
Wed Sep. 15
Thu Sep. 16
Cyprian of Carthage, Pastor and Martyr (Commemoration)
Fri Sep. 17
Sat Sep. 18
Sun Sep. 19
Seventeenth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Sep. 20
Tue Sep. 21
St. Matthew
Wed Sep. 22
Jonah (Commemoration)
Thu Sep. 23
Fri Sep. 24
Sat Sep. 25
Sun Sep. 26
Eighteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Sep. 27
Tue Sep. 28
Wed Sep. 29
St. Michael and All Angels
Thu Sep. 30
Jerome, Translator of Holy Scripture (Commemoration)
Fri Oct. 1
Sat Oct. 2
Sun Oct. 3
Ninteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Oct. 4
Tue Oct. 5
Wed Oct. 6
Thu Oct. 7
Henry Melchior Muhlenberg, Pastor (Commemoration)
Fri Oct. 8
Sat Oct. 9
Abraham (Commemoration)
Sun Oct. 10
Twentieth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Oct. 11
Philip the Deacon (Commemoration)
Tue Oct. 12
Wed Oct. 13
Thu Oct. 14
Fri Oct. 15
Sat Oct. 16
Sun Oct. 17
Twenty-First Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Ignatius of Antioch (Commemoration)
Mon Oct. 18
St. Luke
Tue Oct. 19
Wed Oct. 20
Thu Oct. 21
Fri Oct. 22
Sat Oct. 23
St. James of Jerusalem
Sun Oct. 24
Twenty-Second Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Oct. 25
Dorcas (Tabitha), Lydia, and Phoebe, Faithful Women (Commemoration)
Tue Oct. 26
Philipp Nicolai, Johann Heermann, and Paul Gerhardt, Hymnwriters (Commemoration)
Wed Oct. 27
Thu Oct. 28
St. Simon and St. Jude
Fri Oct. 29
Sat Oct. 30
Sun Oct. 31
Twenty-Third Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Reformation Day
Mon Nov. 1
All Saints' Day
Tue Nov. 2
Wed Nov. 3
Thu Nov. 4
Fri Nov. 5
Sat Nov. 6
Sun Nov. 7
Twenty-Fourth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Nov. 8
Johannes von Staupitz, Luther's Father Confessor (Commemoration)
Tue Nov. 9
Martin Chemnitz (birth), Pastor and Confessor (Commemoration)
Wed Nov. 10
Thu Nov. 11
Martin of Tours, Pastor (Commemoration)
Fri Nov. 12
Sat Nov. 13
Sun Nov. 14
Twenty-Fifth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Emperor Justinian, Christian Ruler and Confessor of Christ (Commemoration)
Mon Nov. 15
Tue Nov. 16
Wed Nov. 17
Thu Nov. 18
Fri Nov. 19
Elizabeth of Hungary (Commemoration)
Sat Nov. 20
Sun Nov. 21
Twenty-Sixth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Nov. 22
Tue Nov. 23
Clement of Rome, Pastor (Commemoration)
Wed Nov. 24
Thu Nov. 25
Fri Nov. 26
Sat Nov. 27
Last day of 2020/2021 church year

Lectionary Readings for Feb. 28
Second Sunday in Lent

  • OT
  • Epistle
  • Gospel
  • Psalm

This year's readings come from Series B of the Three-Year Lutheran Lectionary. [See pp. xiv-xix of the Lutheran Service Book (Concordia Publishing House, St. Louis, 2006) and this site's Lectionaries page.]



Hagar in the Wilderness
Gustave Doré