The Lutheran Church Year

The 2019/2020 Calendar
Monday, September 21, 2020

We are in the Season of . The readings this year come from Series A of the Three-Year Lutheran Lectionary. [See pp. xiv-xix of the Lutheran Service Book (Concordia Publishing House, St. Louis, 2006) and this site's Lectionaries page.]

Advent Season
Sun Dec. 1
First Sunday in Advent
Wed Dec. 4
John of Damascus, Theologian and Hymnwriter (Commemoration)
Fri Dec. 6
Nicholas of Myra, Pastor (Commemoration)
Sat Dec. 7
Ambrose of Milan, Pastor and Hymnwriter (Commemoration)
Sun Dec. 8
Second Sunday in Advent
Fri Dec. 13
Lucia, Martyr (Commemoration)
Sun Dec. 15
Third Sunday in Advent
Tue Dec. 17
Daniel the Prophet and the Three Young Men (Commemoration)
Thu Dec. 19
Adam and Eve (Commemoration)
Fri Dec. 20
Katharina von Bora Luther (Commemoration)
Sat Dec. 21
St. Thomas
Sun Dec. 22
Fourth Sunday in Advent
Christmas Season
Tue Dec. 24
Christmas Eve
Wed Dec. 25
Christmas Day
Thu Dec. 26
St. Stephen
Fri Dec. 27
St. John
Sat Dec. 28
The Holy Innocents
Sun Dec. 29
First Sunday after Christmas
Also: David (Commemoration)
Tue Dec. 31
Eve of the Circumcision and Name of Jesus
Wed Jan. 1
Circumcision and Name of Jesus
Thu Jan. 2
J. K. Wilhelm Loehe, Pastor (Commemoration)
Sun Jan. 5
Second Sunday after Christmas
Epiphany Season
Mon Jan. 6
The Day of Epiphany
Fri Jan. 10
Basil the Great of Caesarea, Gregory of Nazianzus, and Gregory of Nyssa, Pastors and Confessors (Commemoration)
Sun Jan. 12
The Day of the Baptism of our Lord
Sat Jan. 18
The Confession of St. Peter
Sun Jan. 19
Second Sunday after Epiphany
Mon Jan. 20
Sarah (Commemoration)
Fri Jan. 24
St. Timothy
Sat Jan. 25
The Conversion of St. Paul
Sun Jan. 26
Third Sunday after Epiphany
Also: St. Titus
Mon Jan. 27
John Chrysostom, Preacher (Commemoration)
Sun Feb. 2
Fourth Sunday after Epiphany
Also: The Purification of Mary and the Presentation of Our Lord
Wed Feb. 5
Jacob (Israel), Patriarch (Commemoration)
Sun Feb. 9
Fifth Sunday after Epiphany ("Septuagesima")
Mon Feb. 10
Silas, Fellow Worker of St. Peter and St. Paul (Commemoration)
Thu Feb. 13
Aquila, Priscilla, Apollos (Commemoration)
Fri Feb. 14
Valentine, Martyr (Commemoration)
Sat Feb. 15
Philemon and Onesimus (Commemoration)
Sun Feb. 16
Sixth Sunday after Epiphany ("Sexagesima")
Also: Philipp Melanchthon (birth), Confessor (Commemoration)
Tue Feb. 18
Martin Luther, Doctor and Confessor (Commemoration)
Sun Feb. 23
Transfiguration Sunday ("Quinquagesima")
Also: Polycarp of Smyrna (Commemoration)
Mon Feb. 24
St. Matthias
Lent Season
Wed Feb. 26
Ash Wednesday
Sun Mar. 1
First Sunday in Lent ("Invocati")
Sat Mar. 7
Perpetua and Felicitas, Martyrs (Commemoration)
Sun Mar. 8
Second Sunday in Lent ("Reminiscere")
Sun Mar. 15
Third Sunday in Lent ("Oculi")
Tue Mar. 17
Patrick, Missionary to Ireland (Commemoration)
Thu Mar. 19
St. Joseph
Sun Mar. 22
Fourth Sunday in Lent ("Laetare")
Wed Mar. 25
The Annunciation of Our Lord
Sun Mar. 29
Fifth Sunday in Lent ("Judica")
Tue Mar. 31
Joseph, Patriarch (Commemoration)
Sun Apr. 5
Palm Sunday
Mon Apr. 6
Monday in Holy Week
Also: Lucas Cranach and Albrecht Dürer, Artists (Commemoration)
Tue Apr. 7
Tuesday in Holy Week
Wed Apr. 8
Wednesday in Holy Week
Thu Apr. 9
Holy (Maundy) Thursday
Fri Apr. 10
Good Friday
Sat Apr. 11
Holy Saturday
Easter Season
Sun Apr. 12
Easter Day
Mon Apr. 13
Easter Monday
Tue Apr. 14
Easter Tuesday
Wed Apr. 15
Easter Wednesday
Sun Apr. 19
First Sunday after Easter ("Quasimodogenti")
Mon Apr. 20
Johannes Bugenhagen, Pastor (Commemoration)
Tue Apr. 21
Anselm of Canterbury, Theologian (Commemoration)
Fri Apr. 24
Johann Walter, Kantor (Commemoration)
Sat Apr. 25
St. Mark
Sun Apr. 26
Second Sunday after Easter ("Misericordias Domini")
Fri May 1
St. Philip and St. James
Sat May 2
Athanasius of Alexandria, Pastor and Confessor (Commemoration)
Sun May 3
Third Sunday after Easter ("Jubilate")
Mon May 4
Friedrich Wyneken, Pastor and Missionary (Commemoration)
Tue May 5
Frederick the Wise, Christian Ruler (Commemoration)
Thu May 7
C. F. W. Walther, Theologian (Commemoration)
Sat May 9
Job (Commemoration)
Sun May 10
Fourth Sunday after Easter ("Cantate")
Mon May 11
Cyril and Methodius, Missionaries to the Slavs (Commemoration)
Sun May 17
Fifth Sunday after Easter ("Rogate")
Thu May 21
Ascension Day
Also: Emperor Constantine, Christian Ruler, and Helena, Mother of Constantine (Commemoration)
Sun May 24
Sixth Sunday after Easter ("Exaudi")
Also: Esther (Commemoration)
Mon May 25
Bede the Venerable, Theologian (Commemoration)
Pentecost Season
Sun May 31
Pentecost
Also: The Visitation
Mon Jun. 1
Justin, Martyr (Commemoration)
Fri Jun. 5
Boniface of Mainz, Missionary to the Germans (Commemoration)
Sun Jun. 7
Holy Trinity
Thu Jun. 11
St. Barnabas
Fri Jun. 12
The Ecumenical Council of Nicaea, AD 325 (Commemoration)
Sun Jun. 14
Second Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Elisha (Commemoration)
Sun Jun. 21
Third Sunday after Pentecost
Wed Jun. 24
The Nativity of St. John the Baptist
Thu Jun. 25
Presentation of the Augsburg Confession (Commemoration)
Fri Jun. 26
Jeremiah (Commemoration)
Sat Jun. 27
Cyril of Alexandria, Pastor and Confessor (Commemoration)
Sun Jun. 28
Fourth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Irenaeus of Lyons, Pastor (Commemoration)
Mon Jun. 29
St. Peter and St. Paul
Sun Jul. 5
Fifth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Jul. 6
Isaiah (Commemoration)
Sun Jul. 12
Sixth Sunday after Pentecost
Thu Jul. 16
Ruth (Commemoration)
Sun Jul. 19
Seventh Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Jul. 20
Elijah (Commemoration)
Tue Jul. 21
Ezekiel (Commemoration)
Wed Jul. 22
St. Mary Magdalene
Sat Jul. 25
St. James the Elder
Sun Jul. 26
Eighth Sunday after Pentecost
Tue Jul. 28
Johann Sebastian Bach, Kantor (Commemoration)
Wed Jul. 29
Mary, Martha, and Lazarus of Bethany (Commemoration)
Thu Jul. 30
Robert Barnes, Confessor and Martyr (Commemoration)
Fri Jul. 31
Joseph of Arimathea (Commemoration)
Sun Aug. 2
Ninth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Aug. 3
Joanna, Mary, and Salome, Myrrhbearers (Commemoration)
Sun Aug. 9
Tenth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Aug. 10
Lawrence, Deacon and Martyr (Commemoration)
Sat Aug. 15
St. Mary
Sun Aug. 16
Eleventh Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Isaac (Commemoration)
Mon Aug. 17
Johann Gerhard, Theologian (Commemoration)
Wed Aug. 19
Bernard of Clairvaux, Hymnwriter and Theologian (Commemoration)
Thu Aug. 20
Samuel (Commemoration)
Sun Aug. 23
Twelfth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Aug. 24
St. Bartholomew
Thu Aug. 27
Monica, Mother of Augustine (Commemoration)
Fri Aug. 28
Augustine of Hippo, Pastor and Theologian (Commemoration)
Sat Aug. 29
The Martyrdom of St. John the Baptist
Sun Aug. 30
Thirteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Tue Sep. 1
Joshua (Commemoration)
Wed Sep. 2
Hannah (Commemoration)
Thu Sep. 3
Gregory the Great, Pastor (Commemoration)
Fri Sep. 4
Moses (Commemoration)
Sat Sep. 5
Zechariah and Elizabeth (Commemoration)
Sun Sep. 6
Fourteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Sun Sep. 13
Fifteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Sep. 14
Holy Cross Day
Wed Sep. 16
Cyprian of Carthage, Pastor and Martyr (Commemoration)
Sun Sep. 20
Sixteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Sep. 21
St. Matthew
Tue Sep. 22
Jonah (Commemoration)
Sun Sep. 27
Seventeenth Sunday after Pentecost
Tue Sep. 29
St. Michael and All Angels
Wed Sep. 30
Jerome, Translator of Holy Scripture (Commemoration)
Sun Oct. 4
Eighteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Wed Oct. 7
Henry Melchior Muhlenberg, Pastor (Commemoration)
Fri Oct. 9
Abraham (Commemoration)
Sun Oct. 11
Ninteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Philip the Deacon (Commemoration)
Sat Oct. 17
Ignatius of Antioch (Commemoration)
Sun Oct. 18
Twentieth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: St. Luke
Fri Oct. 23
St. James of Jerusalem
Sun Oct. 25
Twenty-First Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Dorcas (Tabitha), Lydia, and Phoebe, Faithful Women (Commemoration)
Mon Oct. 26
Philipp Nicolai, Johann Heermann, and Paul Gerhardt, Hymnwriters (Commemoration)
Wed Oct. 28
St. Simon and St. Jude
Sat Oct. 31
Reformation Day
Sun Nov. 1
Twenty-Second Sunday after Pentecost
Also: All Saints' Day
Sun Nov. 8
Twenty-Third Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Johannes von Staupitz, Luther's Father Confessor (Commemoration)
Mon Nov. 9
Martin Chemnitz (birth), Pastor and Confessor (Commemoration)
Wed Nov. 11
Martin of Tours, Pastor (Commemoration)
Sat Nov. 14
Emperor Justinian, Christian Ruler and Confessor of Christ (Commemoration)
Sun Nov. 15
Twenty-Fourth Sunday after Pentecost
Thu Nov. 19
Elizabeth of Hungary (Commemoration)
Sun Nov. 22
Twenty-Fifth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Nov. 23
Clement of Rome, Pastor (Commemoration)

Lectionary readings for the day currently selected in the calendar:

Sep. 21 - St. Matthew

  • OT
  • Epistle
  • Gospel