The Lutheran Church Year

The 2020/2021 Calendar
Thursday, November 26, 2020

The readings this year come from Series B of the Three-Year Lutheran Lectionary. [See pp. xiv-xix of the Lutheran Service Book (Concordia Publishing House, St. Louis, 2006) and this site's Lectionaries page.]

Advent Season
Sun Nov. 29
First Sunday in Advent
Also: Noah (Commemoration)
Mon Nov. 30
St. Andrew
Fri Dec. 4
John of Damascus, Theologian and Hymnwriter (Commemoration)
Sun Dec. 6
Second Sunday in Advent
Also: Nicholas of Myra, Pastor (Commemoration)
Mon Dec. 7
Ambrose of Milan, Pastor and Hymnwriter (Commemoration)
Sun Dec. 13
Third Sunday in Advent
Also: Lucia, Martyr (Commemoration)
Thu Dec. 17
Daniel the Prophet and the Three Young Men (Commemoration)
Sat Dec. 19
Adam and Eve (Commemoration)
Sun Dec. 20
Fourth Sunday in Advent
Also: Katharina von Bora Luther (Commemoration)
Mon Dec. 21
St. Thomas
Thu Dec. 24
Christmas Eve
Christmas Season
Fri Dec. 25
Christmas Day
Sat Dec. 26
St. Stephen
Sun Dec. 27
First Sunday after Christmas
Also: St. John
Mon Dec. 28
The Holy Innocents
Tue Dec. 29
David (Commemoration)
Thu Dec. 31
Eve of the Circumcision and Name of Jesus
Fri Jan. 1
Circumcision and Name of Jesus
Sat Jan. 2
J. K. Wilhelm Loehe, Pastor (Commemoration)
Sun Jan. 3
Second Sunday after Christmas
Epiphany Season
Wed Jan. 6
The Day of Epiphany
Sun Jan. 10
The Day of the Baptism of our Lord
Also: Basil the Great of Caesarea, Gregory of Nazianzus, and Gregory of Nyssa, Pastors and Confessors (Commemoration)
Sun Jan. 17
Second Sunday after Epiphany
Mon Jan. 18
The Confession of St. Peter
Wed Jan. 20
Sarah (Commemoration)
Sun Jan. 24
Third Sunday after Epiphany
Also: St. Timothy
Mon Jan. 25
The Conversion of St. Paul
Tue Jan. 26
St. Titus
Wed Jan. 27
John Chrysostom, Preacher (Commemoration)
Sun Jan. 31
Fourth Sunday after Epiphany ("Septuagesima")
Tue Feb. 2
The Purification of Mary and the Presentation of Our Lord
Fri Feb. 5
Jacob (Israel), Patriarch (Commemoration)
Sun Feb. 7
Fifth Sunday after Epiphany ("Sexagesima")
Wed Feb. 10
Silas, Fellow Worker of St. Peter and St. Paul (Commemoration)
Sat Feb. 13
Aquila, Priscilla, Apollos (Commemoration)
Sun Feb. 14
Transfiguration Sunday ("Quinquagesima")
Also: Valentine, Martyr (Commemoration)
Mon Feb. 15
Philemon and Onesimus (Commemoration)
Tue Feb. 16
Philipp Melanchthon (birth), Confessor (Commemoration)
Lent Season
Wed Feb. 17
Ash Wednesday
Thu Feb. 18
Martin Luther, Doctor and Confessor (Commemoration)
Sun Feb. 21
First Sunday in Lent ("Invocati")
Tue Feb. 23
Polycarp of Smyrna (Commemoration)
Wed Feb. 24
St. Matthias
Sun Feb. 28
Second Sunday in Lent ("Reminiscere")
Sun Mar. 7
Third Sunday in Lent ("Oculi")
Also: Perpetua and Felicitas, Martyrs (Commemoration)
Sun Mar. 14
Fourth Sunday in Lent ("Laetare")
Wed Mar. 17
Patrick, Missionary to Ireland (Commemoration)
Fri Mar. 19
St. Joseph
Sun Mar. 21
Fifth Sunday in Lent ("Judica")
Thu Mar. 25
The Annunciation of Our Lord
Sun Mar. 28
Palm Sunday
Mon Mar. 29
Monday in Holy Week
Tue Mar. 30
Tuesday in Holy Week
Wed Mar. 31
Wednesday in Holy Week
Also: Joseph, Patriarch (Commemoration)
Thu Apr. 1
Holy (Maundy) Thursday
Fri Apr. 2
Good Friday
Sat Apr. 3
Holy Saturday
Easter Season
Sun Apr. 4
Easter Day
Mon Apr. 5
Easter Monday
Tue Apr. 6
Easter Tuesday
Also: Lucas Cranach and Albrecht Dürer, Artists (Commemoration)
Wed Apr. 7
Easter Wednesday
Sun Apr. 11
Second Sunday of Easter ("Quasimodogenti")
Sun Apr. 18
Third Sunday of Easter ("Misericordias Domini")
Tue Apr. 20
Johannes Bugenhagen, Pastor (Commemoration)
Wed Apr. 21
Anselm of Canterbury, Theologian (Commemoration)
Sat Apr. 24
Johann Walter, Kantor (Commemoration)
Sun Apr. 25
Fourth Sunday of Easter ("Jubilate")
Also: St. Mark
Sat May 1
St. Philip and St. James
Sun May 2
Fifth Sunday of Easter ("Cantate")
Also: Athanasius of Alexandria, Pastor and Confessor (Commemoration)
Tue May 4
Friedrich Wyneken, Pastor and Missionary (Commemoration)
Wed May 5
Frederick the Wise, Christian Ruler (Commemoration)
Fri May 7
C. F. W. Walther, Theologian (Commemoration)
Sun May 9
Sixth Sunday of Easter ("Rogate")
Also: Job (Commemoration)
Tue May 11
Cyril and Methodius, Missionaries to the Slavs (Commemoration)
Thu May 13
Ascension Day
Sun May 16
Seventh Sunday of Easter ("Exaudi")
Fri May 21
Emperor Constantine, Christian Ruler, and Helena, Mother of Constantine (Commemoration)
Pentecost Season
Sun May 23
Pentecost
Mon May 24
Esther (Commemoration)
Tue May 25
Bede the Venerable, Theologian (Commemoration)
Sun May 30
Holy Trinity
Mon May 31
The Visitation
Tue Jun. 1
Justin, Martyr (Commemoration)
Sat Jun. 5
Boniface of Mainz, Missionary to the Germans (Commemoration)
Sun Jun. 6
Second Sunday after Pentecost
Fri Jun. 11
St. Barnabas
Sat Jun. 12
The Ecumenical Council of Nicaea, AD 325 (Commemoration)
Sun Jun. 13
Third Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Jun. 14
Elisha (Commemoration)
Sun Jun. 20
Fourth Sunday after Pentecost
Thu Jun. 24
The Nativity of St. John the Baptist
Fri Jun. 25
Presentation of the Augsburg Confession (Commemoration)
Sat Jun. 26
Jeremiah (Commemoration)
Sun Jun. 27
Fifth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Cyril of Alexandria, Pastor and Confessor (Commemoration)
Mon Jun. 28
Irenaeus of Lyons, Pastor (Commemoration)
Tue Jun. 29
St. Peter and St. Paul
Sun Jul. 4
Sixth Sunday after Pentecost
Tue Jul. 6
Isaiah (Commemoration)
Sun Jul. 11
Seventh Sunday after Pentecost
Fri Jul. 16
Ruth (Commemoration)
Sun Jul. 18
Eighth Sunday after Pentecost
Tue Jul. 20
Elijah (Commemoration)
Wed Jul. 21
Ezekiel (Commemoration)
Thu Jul. 22
St. Mary Magdalene
Sun Jul. 25
Ninth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: St. James the Elder
Wed Jul. 28
Johann Sebastian Bach, Kantor (Commemoration)
Thu Jul. 29
Mary, Martha, and Lazarus of Bethany (Commemoration)
Fri Jul. 30
Robert Barnes, Confessor and Martyr (Commemoration)
Sat Jul. 31
Joseph of Arimathea (Commemoration)
Sun Aug. 1
Tenth Sunday after Pentecost
Tue Aug. 3
Joanna, Mary, and Salome, Myrrhbearers (Commemoration)
Sun Aug. 8
Eleventh Sunday after Pentecost
Tue Aug. 10
Lawrence, Deacon and Martyr (Commemoration)
Sun Aug. 15
Twelfth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: St. Mary
Mon Aug. 16
Isaac (Commemoration)
Tue Aug. 17
Johann Gerhard, Theologian (Commemoration)
Thu Aug. 19
Bernard of Clairvaux, Hymnwriter and Theologian (Commemoration)
Fri Aug. 20
Samuel (Commemoration)
Sun Aug. 22
Thirteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Tue Aug. 24
St. Bartholomew
Fri Aug. 27
Monica, Mother of Augustine (Commemoration)
Sat Aug. 28
Augustine of Hippo, Pastor and Theologian (Commemoration)
Sun Aug. 29
Fourteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: The Martyrdom of St. John the Baptist
Wed Sep. 1
Joshua (Commemoration)
Thu Sep. 2
Hannah (Commemoration)
Fri Sep. 3
Gregory the Great, Pastor (Commemoration)
Sat Sep. 4
Moses (Commemoration)
Sun Sep. 5
Fifteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Zechariah and Elizabeth (Commemoration)
Sun Sep. 12
Sixteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Tue Sep. 14
Holy Cross Day
Thu Sep. 16
Cyprian of Carthage, Pastor and Martyr (Commemoration)
Sun Sep. 19
Seventeenth Sunday after Pentecost
Tue Sep. 21
St. Matthew
Wed Sep. 22
Jonah (Commemoration)
Sun Sep. 26
Eighteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Wed Sep. 29
St. Michael and All Angels
Thu Sep. 30
Jerome, Translator of Holy Scripture (Commemoration)
Sun Oct. 3
Ninteenth Sunday after Pentecost
Thu Oct. 7
Henry Melchior Muhlenberg, Pastor (Commemoration)
Sat Oct. 9
Abraham (Commemoration)
Sun Oct. 10
Twentieth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Oct. 11
Philip the Deacon (Commemoration)
Sun Oct. 17
Twenty-First Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Ignatius of Antioch (Commemoration)
Mon Oct. 18
St. Luke
Sat Oct. 23
St. James of Jerusalem
Sun Oct. 24
Twenty-Second Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Oct. 25
Dorcas (Tabitha), Lydia, and Phoebe, Faithful Women (Commemoration)
Tue Oct. 26
Philipp Nicolai, Johann Heermann, and Paul Gerhardt, Hymnwriters (Commemoration)
Thu Oct. 28
St. Simon and St. Jude
Sun Oct. 31
Twenty-Third Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Reformation Day
Mon Nov. 1
All Saints' Day
Sun Nov. 7
Twenty-Fourth Sunday after Pentecost
Mon Nov. 8
Johannes von Staupitz, Luther's Father Confessor (Commemoration)
Tue Nov. 9
Martin Chemnitz (birth), Pastor and Confessor (Commemoration)
Thu Nov. 11
Martin of Tours, Pastor (Commemoration)
Sun Nov. 14
Twenty-Fifth Sunday after Pentecost
Also: Emperor Justinian, Christian Ruler and Confessor of Christ (Commemoration)
Fri Nov. 19
Elizabeth of Hungary (Commemoration)
Sun Nov. 21
Twenty-Sixth Sunday after Pentecost
Tue Nov. 23
Clement of Rome, Pastor (Commemoration)

Lectionary Readings
Week of
Season:

  • OT
  • Epistle
  • Gospel
  • Psalm
The Return of the Ark
Gustave Doré